We’re seeking input on endorsing Local Improvement Programmes

8th June 2017

Bonsucro is designing an approach to endorsing Local Improvement Programmes (LIPs) which support sugarcane farmers and mills. To make sure that this reflects your reality and the needs of your organisation, we are consulting members and stakeholders through a series of webinars in early July.

Endorsement is part of Bonsucro’s evolving Benchmarking & Endorsement programme, which is meant to support the success of schemes, tools and programmes developed by our members and stakeholders. Through Endorsement, we hope to stimulate greater alignment and transparency between global efforts aimed at improving the performance of sugarcane farmers and mills. This will make it easier for industrial buyers, funders and other partners to publicly support (and invest in) these efforts while creating a learning environment for programme practitioners.

Bonsucro is seeking your input on how we approach LIP Endorsement.

Please register for one of the online webinars (see below) that will take place in early July. As a registered participant, you will receive the dial-in details as well as some condensed pre-reading.
In case you have any questions, please get in touch with us.

Upcoming webinars

Asia
July 5, 2017, 07:30 UTC
(13:00 New Delhi / 15:30 Singapore / 17:30 Brisbane)

Africa & Europe

July 6, 2017, 10:00 UTC
(11:00 London /
12:00 Cape Town)
Americas
July 6, 2017, 14:00 UTC
(09:00 Mexico City / 09:00 Washington DC / 11:00 São Paulo)

Bonsucro & Renovabio: Exploring synergies and advancing GHG reduction in Brazil

Project partners: Earth innovation Institute and Agroicone
Project length: 12 months Budget: $22,347,79
Supporting the Sustainable Development Goals:

RenovaBio is a Brazilian biofuel policy designed to decrease Brazil’s greenhouse gas emissions by 10% by 2029 [compared to 2018], in line with the Paris Agreement on climate change. It aims to do this by incentivising fuel distributors to blend more biofuels into their products. RenovaBio has established a certification scheme for biofuel, towards which Brazilian sugarcane mills are working, that will enable them to trade decarbonisation credits on the Brazilian stock exchange.

Bonsucro continuously seeks to grow awareness and adoption of its standard. In Brazil, this can be achieved by aligning its framework with RenovaBio to optimise costs and time for mills. In 2019, Bonsucro received a grant of US $22,000 from the Earth Innovation Institute to provide a common understanding of how RenovaBio works and how other regions might benefit from this approach.

Bonsucro addressed the topic at Bonsucro Global Week in Bangkok in March 2019, and through three stakeholder forums in Brazil. The Bonsucro team also commissioned a technical comparison study, which enabled the organisation to understand how best to align with RenovaBio’s requirements.

The study has been shared with key stakeholders in Brazil and the project is now complete. Bonsucro is working to incorporate the study’s findings and recommendations through its ongoing Production Standard Revision process.

By aligning opportunities of optimisation, joint work and integration with the Brazilian Government and reflecting it in the Bonsucro Standard, Bonsucro can help to ensure that more producers adopt sustainability standards like Bonsucro.